Foundations of Risk and Reliability Assessment and Management

Foundations of risk and reliability assessment and management cover general concepts, theories, frameworks, approaches, principles methods for the understanding, assessment, management and communication of risk and reliability in a technological context. 

The objective of this Technical Committee is to: 

  • provide leadership and play an active role in advancing the foundations of risk and reliability assessment and management;
  • facilitate the exchange of ideas and knowledge on the subject among practitioners, researchers, scholars, teachers;
  • encourage collaborative research on the subject;
  • exchange on subjects of educational programs in the field.

Examples of topics addressed by the Committee are: 

  • How to understand and describe risk and reliability 
  • How to understand and treat model uncertainty
  • How to treat uncertainties in risk and reliability assessments 
  • How to conceptualise and deal with black swans
  • How to use the precautionary principle in risk management 
  • How to make use of signals and warnings in risk and reliability assessments 
  • Risk analysis as a science 

It is a primary aim of the Technical Committee to stimulate papers for presentation at the ESREL conferences and publication in relevant journals.  

Synergies and collaborations will be sought with the mirror Specialty Group of the Society for Risk Analysis, which has been recently established (

Terje Aven - University of Stavanger, Norway
Enrico Zio - Politecnico Milano, Italy


Dahham Al Anazi - Saudi Aramco Company, Saudi Arabia
Terje Aven - University of Stavanger, Norway
Jean-Yves Choley - ISAE-Supméca, France
Martin Dazer - Institute of Machine Components, Germany
Roberto Filippini - MedAustron, Austria
Sambor Guze - Gdynia Maritime Univeristy, Poland
Henrik Hassel - Division of risk management and societal safety, Lund University, Sweden
Irena Jakopanec - Tønsberg municipality, Norway
Karol Kowal - National Centre for Nuclear Research, Poland
Jose C. Matos - University of Minho, Portugal
Yongbo Peng - Tongji University, China
Jean-François Petin - Université de Lorraine - Centre de Recherche en Automatique de Nancy, France
Żaneta Staszak - Poznan University of Technology, Faculty of Civil and Transport Engineering, Poland
Daniel Straub - Technical University of Munich, Germany
Barbara Tchórzewska-Cieślak - Rzeszów University of Technology, Faculty of Construction, Environmental Engineering and Architecture, Poland
David Valis - University of Defence, Brno, Czech Republic
Agata Załęska-Fornal - Polish Naval Academy in Gdynia, Poland
Zhiguo Zeng - Centralesupélec, Université Paris-Saclay, France

If you want to join the TC just send an e-mail to chair and co-chair with copy to